My Life in Pictures

Adventures in amateur photography

Something a little different

I’ve been doing a lot of flower pictures, and while I love my flowers, I thought I’d play around with something a little different for this post. I’ve seen a lot of really nice black and white photos lately, so I decided to change several of my own photos to black and white. I definitely think some turned out better than others. What do you think?

This candleholder came out pretty well.

I'm not sure how I feel about this one. I think it needs a little more contrast.

I do like this one, it's dramatic.

I love the color version of this photo, but I think the background's too busy for black and white.

This one's better, I think because there's more contrast between the flower and the background.

This one looks much better in black and white than in color.

Another one I'm not sure of.

 

5 responses to “Something a little different

  1. DanEastSide August 22, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Beautiful black and white images, i like the bird feeder looks interesting.

  2. Linda Landig August 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I like the two you liked best, too: the flower with the water droplets and the lamp. Nice shots! and thank you for visiting my blog today, too!

  3. abu zar August 22, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and appreciation… On #2 – i like the low contrast here (agreed that contrast and tonal contrast is needed for most bnw pictures to work but i think this is one of those cases where the even tone works very well)

  4. bananabatman August 23, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I agree that there is a place for monochrome. It can often give a photo more feeling. Sometimes it seems a shame to loose the colour from flowers, but it is often worth a try anyway. I do like No.2 and don’t think it necessarily needs any more contrast. I think some softness suits the subject. It may also be worth experimenting a bit more with some of the other shots, trying different B&W conversion techniques, depending on what editing software you are using.

    There are a few B&W options on my Flickr photostream and there will be more to follow.

    Thanks also, for visiting my blog today.

  5. Kala August 26, 2011 at 1:24 am

    I actually like the second photo of the rose. Sometimes low contrast works well.

Leave a Reply

