My Life in Pictures

Adventures in amateur photography

Playing with FIYAH!

Over the weekend, I went to a family picnic and had a ton of fun. I’ll have more photos from the weekend in another post, but today’s post is dedicated to one of my favorite things I photographed: the fire. I took about 150 photos of the fire, more than half of which I had to delete because they were blurry, but that’s to be expected. I played around with a few different settings including macro, firework, different shutter speeds, and different exposures. These are a few of my favorite fire shots.

fire

I like the high stretch of these flames.

fire

The flames in this one were so bright and crisp in the photo.

fire

It looks like there's a small fireball coming off this one.

fire

This is my favorite shot.

fire

The flames posed very well for this one.

fire

This is my favorite vertical shot, the flames filled the frame really well, and you can see the embers glowing on the bottom.

 

5 responses to “Playing with FIYAH!

  1. Ed August 16, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Great shot, you can never have too many fire pics,,:-)

  2. WildeLifePhotography August 17, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I’ve always found photographing fire fascinating. Hard to get a sharp shot with the lower shutter speeds and the fire moving.

  3. Living out of Eden August 18, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Why did you choose fire?
    It’s haunting and you really captured the feeling of the flames… I’ll give it a try next time..
    😉

Leave a Reply

